Zygmunt Hübner 'Man of the Theatre' Award 2024


z__hubner___fot__renata_pajchel.jpg (full)

photo by Renata Pajchel, from the archive of Mirosława Dubrawska-Hübner


The Zygmunt Hübner 'Man of the Theatre' Award will be officially presented for the eleventh time on Monday, March 25, 2024, at the Zygmunt Hübner Powszechny Theatre in Warsaw.


The Zygmunt Hübner 'Man of the Theatre' Award was established by the Zygmunt Hübner Theatre of Civic Thought Foundation to remind and promote the ideas of the Patron expressed in creative, educational, and literary practices. Despite the obvious political, social, aesthetic, and cultural changes that have taken place around the theatre and within it, these ideas continue to be worth remembering and considering for the benefit of the theatre, its creators, and the audience.


The award aims to:

- Promote individuals who continue the work of Zygmunt Hübner that he carried out as a Director, Artist, and Author.

- Draw social attention – including directors, officials, local government representatives, and theatrical culture managers – to the challenges of organizing theatrical activities in the spirit of civic thought.

- Restore meaning to the concept of artistic success and artistic careers based on artistry and art conceived as a social mission, shaping the sensitivity of the audience, and creating social awareness, and identity.

- Promote criteria for evaluating an artist's position based on actual achievements in the creative sphere.

- Promote values that the Foundation's Patron remained faithful to throughout his life, such as professional integrity, honesty, a well-understood work ethic, a global perspective on theatre, civic responsibility, and versatility in theatrical activities.

- Recognize versatile individuals whose work contributes to the development/evolution of theatre and expands knowledge about it; visionaries of theatre, people for whom theatre is the meaning of life, and who are authorities in the field.


The award is granted annually to the Man of the Theatre for activities in line with the thoughts and actions of Zygmunt Hübner.


The jury for the 10th edition of the award consists of members of the Foundation's Council: Barbara Borys-Damięcka, Ewa Dałkowska, Joanna Hübner-Wojciechowska, Krystyna Janda, Janusz Gajos, Kazimierz Kaczor, Stanisław Radwan, Jacek Sieradzki, Allan Starski, as well as previous recipients of the award: Anna Augustynowicz, Małgorzata Bogajewska, Dorota Buchwald, Piotr Cieplak, Jan Englert, Jacek Głomb, Tomasz Rodowicz, Robert Talarczyk, and Krzysztof Głuchowski.



Zygmunt Hübner Distinction "Man of the Theatre".


During the award ceremony, the Zygmunt Hübner "Man of the Theatre" Distinction will also be presented for the fifth time. It is awarded to a theatrical creator at the beginning of their journey who, in the Foundation's assessment, embodies the ideals of the Patron in the following aspects:

- Work ethic,

- Independence and originality,

- Sensitivity to contemporary issues,

- Care for craftsmanship,

- High level of artistic, organizational, or social activities.


The co-founder of the Award and Distinction is the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, and the patron of the award ceremony is the Zygmunt Hübner Powszechny Theatre.




Zygmunt Hübner Powszechny Theatre in Warsaw – a cultural institution of Warsaw.

Teatr Powszechny
im. Zygmunta Hübnera
ul. Jana Zamoyskiego 20
03-801 Warszawa
tickets 22 818 25 16
22 818 48 19